Holly Cole is the 15th winner of the Ella Fitzgerald Award. The Montreal International Jazz Festival created the award for its 20th anniversary in 1999, annually conferring it upon a jazz singer of significant talent who has had a major impact and influence in the international scene. Holly is one of only 2 Canadians to ever receive this prestigious award.

“Most of all, her playfulness and the sheer pleasure of singing to a crowd reminds me of Ella more than any past recipient” – André Ménard, artistic director and co-founder of the Festival International de Jazz de Montréal, presented the award to Holly on Friday night at her sold out show at Théâtre du Nouveau Monde.

JAZZ FM’s President and CEO Ross Porter agrees, “I’ve seen Holly perform many times over the last 23 years […], Her show Friday night ranks as the best ever. The Ella Fitzgerald Award, indeed. It is deserved. Congratulations Holly!”

In accepting the prize, Holly Cole will be following previous Ella Fitzgerald prizewinners like Sade (2011), Aretha Franklin (2008), Harry Connick, Jr. (2007), Etta James (2006), Tony Bennett (2004), Bobby McFerrin (2003), Diana Krall (2001), among others.

View the Official Press Release